Lori Dennis Celebrity Luxury Interior Designer | Blog

A blog about luxury and green living by top interior designer Lori Dennis

What’s Trending In the World of Design?

#TrendTracking at High Point Market

October 26, 2017
This High Point Market we were honored to be a part of Esteem Media’s prestigious Design Bloggers Tour! We got an exclusive behind the scenes preview of what’s to come in the home furnishings market and now we’re sharing our findings with you! These are the design trends you’re about to see everywhere this Holiday season:

Bend Goods – LA Made showcased in the Salon at HPMKT (www.imchighpointmarket.com/salon)


Color is Back in a BIG Way!

The last few years, we’ve seen lots of grey and white, lots of ship lap. Gone are those days! It’s all about jewel tones now, baby, and we couldn’t be more excited. Keep an eye out for rich, colorful fabrics: velvets and suades, reminiscent of the 90’s. You’re likely already seeing a lot of this in the fast-fashion industry. They’ll be trending soon in home furnishings as well.

 


Relaxation & Glamour Galore in the Bedroom!

Think: chaises, daybeds, ottomans, loveseats: functional and comfortable pieces that create cozy seating areas in oddly-shaped small spaces or, conversely, form vignettes to make a large room feel more intimate. All of these pieces made with plush textiles with attention paid to every detail for a luxe, but handmade feel.


Boho-Urban Chic in Public Spaces & Kitchens

Coastal-influences are making their way to land-locked locals: That doesn’t mean everything is going to be blue and white and nautical (although, we wouldn’t be complaining if it were!), we’re talking about that bohemian urban aesthetic that used to be exclusively associated with artists’ lofts or midcentury modern homes. Now you’ll be seeing more of that look infused into otherwise traditional or suburban homes. Maybe we have the millennials to thank for that? Look for this trend in kitchen decor and dinning sets.

Quirky & #modern, @bendgoods is bringing some #LAstyle to #HPMKT! #DesignBloggersTour

A post shared by Lori Dennis (@loridennisinc) on

 

Family-Friendly, But Still Luxe!

Designers have so many clients who want a child-proof home, but one that doesn’t compromise on design. That can often seem like a daunting, if not contradictory task, but now our favorite furniture vendors are helping us out with improved technology to create stain-resistant materials or chic ways to display children’s art (rather than with tacky magnets on the refrigerator). These fabulous modern frames from Wexel Art, for example, make for excellent presents!

 




Product Lines Featured:
Century Furniture, www.centuryfurniture.com

Crypton Home Fabric, www.cryptonhome.com

Duralee, www.duralee.com

Green Apple Home Style, www.greenapple.pt

Theodore Alexander, www.theodorealexander.com

Tomlinson, www.tomlinsoncompanies.com
Wexel Art Displays, www.wexelart.com

Younger Furniture, www.youngerfurniture.com